The collection comprises three church books containing minutes of church meetings, roles ofchurch members, correspondence, accounts, newspaper cuttings and advertising bills. The volumescover the period 1841-1859 and 1868-1908. A record of baptism and burial services that took place inthe church is included in the volumes covering the period 1868-1908.
Church books of Retford Congregational Church, Retford, Nottinghamshire,1842-1908
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 159 MS 666
- Dates of Creation1842-1908
- Language of MaterialEnglish.
- Physical Description3 volumes, 1 file
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
In 1808, the Congregationalists of Retford bought a chapel in Union Street that had been erectedby the Countess of Huntingdon's sect in 1798. The Congregationalists opened a schoolroom on the sitein 1809.
The Congregationalists opened a new church in Carolgate on 18 April 1851 following the sale ofthe Union Street Chapel to the Wesleyan Reformers. The church adopted a Romanesque style and wasbuilt in brick and stone. The new church could seat 350 and featured a schoolroom and library. In1877, an infants' schoolroom was added and the church and organ were enlarged.
In 1972, the Congregational Church in England and Wales joined with the Presbyterian Church ofEngland to form the United Reformed Church. Retford Congregational Church is mentioned in a 1970trade directory for the town. There was no United Reformed Church in Retford in 2001.
The church books are in chronological order. Some items were found loose in the volumes and thenumbering reflects which volume they are from.
Conditions Governing Access
ACCESS: Accessible to all registered readers.
REPROGRAPHIC: Reprographic copies can be supplied for educational use and private study purposesonly, depending on access status and the condition of the documents.
Other Finding Aids
This description is the only finding aid available for the collection. Copyright on this description belongs to The University of Nottingham.
Conditions Governing Use
COPYRIGHT: Permission to make published use of any material from this collection must be soughtin advance in writing from the Keeper of the Department of Manuscripts and Special Collections(email email@example.com). TheDepartment will try to assist in identifying copyright owners but this can be difficult and theresponsibility for copyright clearance before publication ultimately rests with the person wishingto publish.
The books were acquired by the University's Department of Manuscripts and Special Collections inNovember 1996.