- Annual reports and accounts to shareholders, 1897–1976;
- Family papers, 1824–1825;
- Financial records, 1891–1982;
- Licensed premises records, 1920s–1970s;
- Memorandum and articles of association, 1896;
- Minutes of Directors' Meetings and AGMs, 1896–1978;
- Patents and Trademarks records, 1895–1957;
- Photographs, 1870s–1990s;
- Production records, 1907–1993;
- Promotional material, 1910s–1990s;
- Salaries and wages records, 1941–1975;
- Sales records, 1917–1985;
- Shareholding records, 1896–1985.
Records of Maclay & Co Ltd, brewers, Alloa, Scotland
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
James Maclay (died 1875 ) worked at the Old Devon Ironworks in Tillicoultry in the late 18th century and then as an accountant at the Hutton Park Brewery in Alloa . In 1830 he acquired the lease to the Mills Brewery in the town, which he gave up in 1871 when he opened the new Thistle Brewery in East Vennel . After his death in 1875 , James' sons James Maclay and John Maclay succeeded him as heads of the business. Maclay & Co Ltd was registered as a limited company in August 1896 to acquire the business, which was valued at GBP 55,000. Alexander Fraser (died c1918 ) a brewer from Dunfermline , was managing director of the new company and his family possessed a controlling interest in the firm. It leased premises in London 's Old Kent Road in 1901 and maltings at Menstrie in Stirlingshire from 1905 . In 1910 parts of the brewery were damaged by a fire in which much of the company's archive was destroyed. The firm was unable to recommence brewing for nearly a year. The Old Kent Road premises were destroyed during an air raid in 1941 . After the war, when rationing remained in place, the firm was unable to meet the demand for beer in its pubs in the North East of England and sold them to the Hammond Brewery . Maclay acquired part of the Mills Brewery in Alloa from Robert Henderson & Co Ltd in 1948 . Maclay & Co was acquired by members of the Matthews family in 1991 . It ceased brewing in 2001 and focussed on the management of its pubs and hotels. The old brewery has listed building status and in 2006 a part of it had been converted to accommodate a pub.
The material is arranged according to the Scottish Brewing Archive classification scheme used within all SBA collections.
Conditions Governing Access
Deposited by Maclay & Co Ltd.
Other Finding Aids
File level list available in searchroom.
Alternative Form Available
No known copies
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
No physical characteristics that affect the use of this material.
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the University Archivist.
Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use and condition of documents.
This material has been appraised in line with standard GB 0248 procedures.
The collection was previously stored bt Maclay & Co at their brewery in Alloa. It was removed to the University of Glasgow in 1991. Custody of the Scottish Brewing Archive was transferred to Glasgow University Archive Services in 2008.
More expected from former employees.
Location of Originals
This material is original
Richmond, Lesley and Turton, Alison (eds), The Brewing Industry. A Guide to Historical Records , (Manchester and New York: Manchester University Press, 1990).
No known publications using this material.
Description compiled in line with the following international standards: International Council on Archives, ISAD(G) Second Edition, September 1999 and National Council on Archives, Rules for the construction of personal, place and corporate names
Scotland is the location of all place names in the administrative/biographical history element, unless otherwise stated.
Collection catalogued by Iain Russell, Scottish Brewing Archive Archivist, 03 May 2007. Catalogue converted to Encoded Archival Description by Michelle Kaye, Archives Assistant, 29 March 2012. Catalogue edited by Iain Russell, Scottish Brewing Archive Archivist, 3 May 2007.