Collection of architectural plans, specifications and correspondence relating to the proposed construction of Morecambe Tower
Architectural plans of Morecambe Tower
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
In March 1898 Tom Bradley, an architect, patented an idea for a cone-shaped tower ascended by a spiral tramway. The Morecambe Tower Company Limited was registered in October 1898 in order to use this invention, and hopefully compete with Blackpool Tower. William Hampden Sugden and Arthur Sugden of Keighley were appointed architects for the project. Building work was in progress by May 1899, however the Company failed to raise the required funds, and construction was stopped. A liquidator was appointed in July 1901 and the Company was wound up in October 1904. The Morecambe Tower was bought by the Morecambe Tower and Estates Company in 1909, and they were able to complete some of the buildings, including the shops and pavilion. A ballroom was also added in 1911. During the First World War the Tower was dismantled and the materials used for munitions. The remaining buildings were sold to Gaumont in 1928, then Rank in 1952, during which time it operated mainly as a cinema. The building was closed in 1959, and finally demolished in 1961.
Conditions Governing Access
Open for consultation, on production of a valid CARN reader's ticket, however some items may be too fragile to be produced. Please visit our website for more information.
Other Finding Aids
The full archive catalogue can be searched online