The collection consists of 14 items being: leases, releases, conveyances, and documents relating to the Fisher Theatre, Bungay and the site on which it is built, 1790 - 1886; a deed for securing 700 in 14 shares on the Bungay Theatre, dated 3rd March 1827, and a release of one share, dated 22nd May 1835; and a photocopy of the will of John Watts of Bungay, Cordwainer, dated 10th December 1883, in which the Corn Hall [Fisher Theatre] was bequeathed to his son, Edgar Watts. The will is annotated to the effect that John Watts died on 21st May 1886. The latest document in the collection is the conveyance of the Corn Hall to Edgar Watts, dated 10th September 1886.
Fisher Theatre, Bungay
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Fisher theatre at Bungay, Suffolk, opened in February 1828. It was built by David Fisher I, who raised the capital to purchase the site and erect the building by the issue of 14 50 shares; there were 13 shareholders. The theatre was one of a dozen serving the circuit of Fisher's company, The Norfolk and Suffolk Company of Comedians and seasons of performances were produced on a two-year cycle.
The theatre was sold by the Fishers in 1844 and was used subsequently as a corn hall, furniture store, steam laundry, cinema, and textile warehouse. In 2000 the building was acquired by the Bungay Arts Trust. After extensive renovations the building was re-opened in 2006 as a community theatre and arts centre which is also licensed for wedding and civil ceremonies.
Conditions Governing Access
Other than where a specific access restriction is noted, the collection is open for consultation in the Archives Department during its advertised opening hours.
Other Finding Aids
A typescript list of the contents is available for consultation in the Archvies Department.
Updated 24/6/15 bg
Conditions Governing Use
Reproductions can be supplied in hard copy or digital format subject to physical condition and the terms of deposit. A charge is made for this service. Copyright restrictions may apply and the advice of the Archives department should be sought for any use of reproductions other than personal research.
In June 1997 the collection was deposited (on loan) with the University of East Anglia by the then owners John and Judy Hawkins. In May 2015 ownership of the collection was transferred to the Trustees of the Fisher Theatre. The collection remained throughout at the UEA Archives.