GB 231 MS 2276 Manuscript volume, entitled Place-names of the Eastern Highlands; from the notebooks of F.C. Diack, with introduction, biographical notes, and an obituary of F.C. Diack, n.d.. The volume was compiled by Dr W.M. Alexander (1880 - 1959), from a series of Diack's notebooks, which record the results of research undertaken in parts of the Eastern Highlands between c 1920 and c 1930. During frequent visits to the area Diack conversed with Gaelic speakers (often last generation Gaelic speakers) and was able to compare local and phonetical differences in Gaelic place names with the written records of the Ordnance Survey maps and others. The volume contains the map names of places in the Eastern Highlands along with the spoken names used by the Gaelic speakers with whom he spoke. The area of his research chiefly covers the districts of Aberfoyle, Strathardle, Braemar, Strathspey and Inverness.
GB 231 MS 2636 Collection of photographic negatives, plates, prints and slides, plaster casts and rubbings, of ogham, Pictish or Latin inscriptions and sculptured stones in Scotland, made by F.C. Diack c 1924 - 1939. The collection has not been fully catalogued, but named sites and monuments identified thus far include the Ackergill Disc; circular ogam at Logie; the Newton Symbol Stone; ogam stone at Insh; Pictish stone at Logie Elphinstone; stones in Meigle Museum; the Beanshill stone; the Drumfours stone; stones at the Kirk of South Whiteness, Lerwick; Clephanton stones; Latin slab from Kirkmadrine; inscribed stone from Whithorn Priory; Pictish stone from Keiss Bay; the Drosten stone at St Vigeans; Roman stones at Fordoun; the Cat stone at Kirkliston; the Grantown sculptured stone; the Newton stone (taken prior to its re-location). Many other images remain unidentified. There are additionally, 16 card index files containing Diack's research on Scottish place names.
GB 231 MS 2771 Working papers of Professor John Fraser and F.C Diack, concerning their research on Celtic philology, conducted during Professor Fraser's time at Aberdeen University, 1907 - 1921. The collection comprises notebooks, files, loose papers, and photographs, with original indices thereof. The original order of papers and files has been disturbed, and listing yet to be completed. It is believed that the collection contains Diack's notebooks relating to his research on place names of the Eastern Highlands, described in GB 231 MS 2276, above.