Edeyrnion Rural District Council, Merionethshire, was established under the provisions of the Local Government Act 1894. It contained the parishes of Betws Gwerful Goch, Corwen, Gwyddelwern, Llandrillo, Llangar and Llansanffraid Glyndyfrdwy. The council was composed of councillors and a chairman, elected for three years. They originally took over responsibility for local sanitation from the local sanitary authorities and their responsibilities included sanitary services, sewerage, refuse collection, maintaining local roads, cemeteries, parks, and licensing of public entertainments, water supply and later housing. Rural District Councils were administered by a number of committees and by appointed officers including a Clerk, Treasurer, Rating Officer, Public Health Inspector, Housing Officer and Surveyor. Edeyrnion Rural District Council was abolished after local government reorganisation in 1974, being absorbed into Glyndwr District Council, Clwyd. The council accumulated the records of Corwen Rural Sanitary Authority, Corwen Parochial Committee, and Corwen Market Hall Co.
Scope and content: Records of Edeyrnion Rural District Council, 1881-1974, comprising Clerk's Department records, 1894-1974, including minutes, 1894-1974, letter books, 1902-1935, and files of correspondence and papers, 1914-1971; Treasurer's records, 1928-1974, including general ledgers, 1937-1974, Treasurer's accounts, 1937-1961, and financial statements, 1928-1936; Rating Officer's records, 1917-1974, including valuation lists, 1950-1956, rate books (sample), 1917-1974, and water rates and rent books, 1929-1944; minutes of Corwen Rural Sanitary Authority, 1881-1895, and Corwen Parochial Committee, 1891-1942; and Corwen Market Hall Co. records, 1901-1922.