Scope and Content

Comprising: Registration: Registers of Baptisms 1911-1963, Registers of Marriages 1914-1973, Registers of Banns 1970-1980, Registers of Confirmations 1912-1957, Registers of Services 1910-1959; PCC minutes 1945-1973 and [few] accounts 1915-1966; other records 1950-1953

Administrative / Biographical History

This parish was created out of the parishes of Adwick le Street, Brodsworth and Doncaster and was assigned its own district in 1913. It was created to serve the new colliery villages of Woodlands and Highfields, built to house workers at Brodsworth colliery. The building of the church was financed by Charles Thellusson of Brodsworth Hall (its spire clearly visible from the driveway to the hall) .


The collection is divided into three series as follows:

P49/1: Registration, Church Services, and Worship

P49/4: Parochial Church Council

P49/10: Miscellaneous

Access Information


Private (Church of England)

Access will be granted to any accredited member of Doncaster Libraries

Related Material

Correspondence about the church 1908 to 1911 is to be found amongst the archives of the Brodsworth estate (DD/BROD/4/16); The building control plans for the church are to be found at UD/ADW/4/114