Manuscript of a poem entitled 'Marius in tuguaio ruinarum Carthaginensium' in Latin byEdward Copleston (1776-1849), 1793

Scope and Content

A manuscript of a poem entitled 'Marius in tuguaio ruinarum Carthaginensium' [Marius amid theruins of Carthage] by Edward Copleston. The poem, which appears to be a fair copy, is written onfour folios and is dated 1793.

Administrative / Biographical History

Edward Copleston was born in 1776 in Offwell, Devon, a parish in which his father was the rector.He was educated privately and gained a scholarship to Corpus Christi College, Oxford (B.A. 1795) atthe age of 15. In 1793, he was awarded the chancellor's prize for Latin hexameters for 'Marius intuguaio ruinarum Carthaginensium' [Marius amid the ruins of Carthage]. He became a fellow of OrielCollege, Oxford in 1795 (M.A. 1797). He was made Professor of Poetry in 1802, a post he held until1812. From 1814 to 1828 he was Provost of Oriel College. His ecclesiastical career began as vicar ofSt Mary's, Oxford in 1800. He was Bishop of Llandaff from 1828 until his death, when he was buriedin the ruined cathedral of Llandaff.


No archival arrangement has been necessary.

Access Information

ACCESS: Accessible to all registered readers.


Other Finding Aids

  • This description is the only finding aid available for the manuscript. Copyright on thedescription belongs to the University of Nottingham.

Separated Material

Conditions Governing Use

REPROGRAPHIC: Reprographic copies can be supplied for educational use and private study purposesonly, depending on access status and the condition of the documents.

COPYRIGHT: Identification of copyright holders of unpublished material is often difficult.Permission to make any published use of any material from the collection must be sought in advancein writing from the Keeper of Manuscripts and Special Collections (email

Custodial History

The provenance of the manuscript is not known, nor whether it is in the hand of Copleston or is alater copy. It was given to the University of Nottingham's Department of Manuscripts in August1976.