The Cornish Bank records

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Records relating to the establishment and operation of the Bank, and subsequent takeover by Capital & Counties Bank, including:

  • Establishment (1879): certificate of incorporation and memorandum and articles of association;
  • Operation (1878-1928): minute books, auditors’ reports, annual reports, investment ledgers, declarations of secrecy, and articles of apprenticeship;
  • Amalgamation (1897-1920): letter declining earlier suggested merger with Capital & Counties Bank, memorandum of agreement re proposed merger, deed of transfer of remaining assets to Lloyds Bank.

Administrative / Biographical History

This joint-stock bank’s origins can be traced back to the private firm of Tweedy, Williams & Company, founded as Sir John Molesworth & Son in 1771 in Truro. In 1879 the firm failed, following the financial crisis precipitated by the collapse of the City of Glasgow Bank the previous October. It was reconstituted in the same year as the Cornish Bank. It was taken over by Capital & Counties Bank (est. 1877) in 1902, by which time it had 30 branches.

Conditions Governing Access

Access is by appointment only, and at the discretion of the Archivist. Please e-mail archives@lloydsbanking.com for further information.

Other Finding Aids

Item level catalogue available - please e-mail archives@lloydsbanking.com for further details.

Geographical Names