Records, 1840-1901, of the Llanelli Railway and Dock Company, including leases, 1872-1900; memoranda of agreement for service provisions, 1847-1901; correspondence, 1848-1887; rules, orders, regulations and bye-laws, 1840-1872; and contract drawings for construction of New Dock, Llanelli .
Llanelli Railway and Dock Company
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 211 DB122
- Dates of Creation1840-1901
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical DescriptionInformation to be supplied
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Llanelli Railway and Dock Company, Carmarthenshire, was incorporated in 1828. In 1835 the company obtained approval to build a railway up the Loughor valley and over to Llandeilo in the Tywi valley. The first six miles were opened to Pontarddulais in 1839. In 1864, the company completed a railway line between Llanelli and Llandeilo.
Conditions Governing Access
Source not recorded
Compiled by Richard Burman for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Carmarthenshire Archives Service, Business Records; Pembrey Parish Historical Society website (www.rootsweb.com/~wlscfhs/ppchronology.pdf), viewed 21 October 2003.
Other Finding Aids
A hard copy of the catalogue is available at Carmarthenshire Archives Service.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply
All records deposited at Carmarthenshire Archives Service have been retained.
Accruals are not expected