File of papers, photographs etc.
James Cycle Co. Ltd
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Harry James (1860-1905) started making his cycles about 1880 in a small factory in Constitution Hill, Birmingham. By 1890 he had moved to larger premises in Sampson Road North, Sparkbrook, Birmingham, and the James Cycle Company was established in 1897. However, he was a sick man and retired as Managing Director in 1898. In 1908, after Harry James's death, the Company built new works at Greet. In 1902 a young engineer named Frank Kimberley was engaged: he was later to design the first James motorcycle. He retired in 1955, by which time the firm had been taken over by the AMC Company. On its failure in 1966, James was no more. Harry James's brother, John Thomas James (1861-1902), founded the Birmingham Rim Works, in Loveday Street, Birmingham. He manufactured cycle and motor cycle rims for tyres and after his death in 1902, Harry probably ran his firm which was re-named James H. and Co. (Rims).
This collection is available to researchers by appointment at the Modern Records Centre, University of Warwick. See http://www2.warwick.ac.uk/services/library/mrc/using/
This collection was deposited in the Centre by the National Cycle Archive, 27 July 1993.
Other Finding Aids
Link to full catalogue: http://mrc-catalogue.warwick.ac.uk/records/NCA/3/5
Conditions Governing Use
There are no restrictions on the use of this archive, apart from the requirements of copyright law.
Further deposits are not expected.