- Memorandum and articles of association 1897, 1930 and 1948;
- Minutes of managing body 1960-1962;
- Records relating to directors' meetings 1960;
- Minutes of members' meetings 1961-1965;
- Records relating to members' meetings 1946-1967;
- Directors report and accounts 1957-1969;
- Shareholding records 1897-1971;
- Financial records 1898-1962;
- Production records 1947-1960;
- Sales records 1944-1947;
- Pensions and life assurance 1947;
- Licensed premises records 1935-1965;
- Property records 1953-1960;
- Promotional material 20th century;
- Photographs 1931-1970s;
Records of William Murray & Co Ltd, brewers, Edinburgh, Scotland
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 248 WMC
- Dates of Creation1897-1970s
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description1.2 metresThere are no physical characteristics that affect the use of this material
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
William Murray , brewer and farmer , established the business at Ednam, near Kelso, Scotland , in 1880. The brewery was destroyed by fire and William Murray moved to Craigmillar, Edinburgh, Scotland , in 1886 and established the Craigmillar Brewery . William Murray & Co Ltd was registered in December 1897 as a limited liability company to acquire the business at a purchase price of GBP 75,000. The company took over John Somerville & Co Ltd , North British Brewery , Duddingston, Edinburgh (est. 1897), in 1922; John & George Brown , Macduff Brewery , East Wemyss, Scotland, (est. 1850s) and 8 tied houses in 1926; William Halley Brown , Craigie Brewery , Lyon Street, Dundee, Scotland, in 1943; and John Wallace & Co , Aberdeen, Grampian, whisky blenders and wine and spirit merchants, in about 1946.
Brewing ceased at Craigmillar Brewery in 1950 , continuing at the North British Brewery. The company was acquired in May 1960 by Northern Breweries of Great Britain Ltd , later United Breweries Ltd , York and London, England, which merged with Charrington and Co Ltd , London, in 1962 through a holding company, Charrington United Breweries Ltd . It continued to brew until May 1962 when brewing was transferred to Aitchison Jeffrey Ltd , Heriot Brewery , Roseburn Terrace, Edinburgh, Scotland. Bottling and malting continued at the North British Brewery until 1964 .
The material is arranged according to the Scottish Brewing Archive classification scheme used within all SBA collections.
Tennent Caledonian Breweries Ltd
Other Finding Aids
File level list available in searchroom
Alternative Form Available
No known copies
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the Archivist
Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use & condition of documents
This material has been appraised in line with standard GB 0248 procedures
The collection was previously stored with the rest of the Scottish Brewing Archive at Heriot-Watt University. It moved to the University of Glasgow in 1991. More material has been received from Tennent Caledonian Breweries Ltd since 1991. Custody of the Scottish Brewing Archive was transferred to Glasgow University Archive Services in 2008.
This material is original
Fonds level description compiled by Natalie Milne, Archives Assistant (Hub), 25 October 2001. Catalogue converted to Encoded Archival Description, 8 June 2005. Catalogue revised by Wiebke Redlich, Archive Assistant (Hub), 04 February 2002; Emma Yan, Assistant Archivist, 19 December 2008; and Michelle Kaye, Archives Assistant, 10 May 2012.