Cambridge University: Academic Papers

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

MS.Add.5050: Specimens of subjects debated for acts and opponencies towards the B.A. degree, in three hands, in Latin and English, 1840s or earlier, 18 folios.

MS.Add.5051: Mark book of the mathematical tripos, in the hand of Richard Potter, 1842, 50 folios. The marks are filled in on printed forms. Attached to the flyleaf is a letter from Michael Cress Potter to John Willis Clark, 21 April 1902.

Administrative / Biographical History

Cambridge University's history can be dated back to the early thirteenth century, when scholars congregated in the city for the purpose of study. The first college, Peterhouse, was established in 1284.

Richard Potter (1799-1889) entered Queens' College, Cambridge, in 1834, and was a fellow, 1839-1843. He was professor of natural philosophy and astronomy at University College, London, during two spells, 1841-1843 and 1844-1865.

Conditions Governing Access

Open for consultation by holders of a Reader's Ticket valid for the Manuscripts Reading Room.

Acquisition Information

Bequeathed by John Willis Clark, 1910.

Note

Description compiled by Robert Steiner, Department of Manuscripts and University Archives. The biographical history was compiled with reference to the entry on Richard Potter in J.A. Venn, Alumni Cantabrigienses, Part II, Vol. V (Cambridge University Press, 1953), p. 167.

Other Finding Aids

Additional Manuscripts Catalogue.

Custodial History

The volumes belonged formerly to Richard Potter, an examiner in 1842. They passed to his nephew M.C. Potter, who presented them to John Willis Clark.

Corporate Names