George Swinford was born in 1887, and lived all his life in Filkins. Although he was a builder by trade, he devoted much spare time to the local history of Filkins, helping to set up a local museum. Between 1955 and 1958 he wrote the history of Filkins which is listed here.
The book was deposited in August 1993 and given the Accession Number 3690.
Catalogued in January 1994 by Robin Darwall-Smith.