District Records of the Methodist Church, Methodist Connexion, York and Hull District

Scope and Content

Synod records, including meeting minutes, 1927-1984, programmes, 1934-1987, directories, 1931-1987, and schedules of local Methodist charities displayed at Spring Synods, 1970-1985; District Chapel Committee, District Synod and District Chapel Affairs Sub-Committee minute book, 1951-1972; Church Membership Committee records, inclduing minute book, 1957-1977, correspondence, 1963-1970, and District membership returns, 1982-1984; Women’s Committee records, including Executive Committee minute books, 1955-1985, council minute book, 1981-1983, Region 2 Consultation minutes and papers, 1983-1985, events programme, 1987, and service sheet for Women’s Committee celebration of Methodist bi-centenary, 1986; report of Student Work Committee, 1968; handbook for Hull Methodist conference, 1977.

Unlisted material, 1952-2009.

Administrative / Biographical History

The York and Hull District was formed in 1957 as a result of a nationwide re-modelling of Methodist Districts, superseding the York and Whitby District. Its first Chairman was hymn-writer Reverend Fred Pratt Green.

At is creation the District comprised the following circuits: York, Clifton & Monkgate; York, Centenary; York, Wesley; Hull, Trinity; Hull, East; Hull, Mission; Hull, West; Hull, North; Snaith; Goole; Beverley; Driffield; Bridlington, Quay; Bridlington, St John's; Withernsea; Hornsea, Trinity; Hornsea, Market Place; Howden Caves; Filey, Trinity; Filey, Ebenezer; Market Weighton; Whitby; Tadcaster; Pocklington; Malton; Easingwold; Helmsley; Scarborough, Queen Street; Scarborough, St Sepulchre; Sherburn; Pickering; Kirkby Moorside; Thirsk; Ripon; Masham; Boroughbridge; Selby and Northallerton.

As of 2016 the District is divided into thirteen circuits. These are York; Beverley; Bridlington; Pockington & Market Weighton; Tadcaster; Thirsk & Northallerton; Ripon & Lower Dales; North Yorkshire Coast; South Holderness; Ryedale; Driffield-Hornsea; Goole & Selby; and Hull Centre & West.

The York and Whitby District was formed in 1932 following the unification of the Primitive, Wesleyan and United Methodist churches into a single Methodist Connexion. As it result it initially included ex-circuits of all three churches. Its first Chairman was Reverend David Bradbury.

In 1932 it comprised the following former Wesleyan circuits: York, Clifton; York, Centenary; York, Wesley; Whitby; Tadcaster, Pocklington; Market Weighton; Malton; Easingwold; Thirsk; Masham; Selby; Helmsley; Scarborough; Sherburn; Pickering; Kirbymoorside; Northallerton; Ripon and Boroughbridge. It also comprised the former Primitive Methodist circuits of York, Monkgate; York, Victoria Bar; Whitby; Tadcaster; Pocklington; Malton; Easingwold; Helmsley, two circuits at Scarborough; Pickering; Thirsky; Ripon; Selby and Brompton, as well as the former United Methodist circuits at York, Scarborough and Ripon.

In 1934 York, Monkgate Circuit was added and by the 1940s the multiple Primitive, Wesleyan and United Methodist circuits had been consolidated into single circuits for everywhere except York, Scarborough, Pickering and Selby, which had two circuits each, and York four.

In 1957 the District was superseded by the new York and Hull District.

Arrangement

The archive includes records of the York District of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion (1791-1932) and the York and Whitby (1932-1957), and York and Hull District (1957-) of the Methodist Connexion, often in a continuous record series.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute prior to 1998. Further additions were made to the archive in 1998, 1999, 2002, 2003, 2005, 2010 and 2013.

Note

The York and Hull District was formed in 1957 as a result of a nationwide re-modelling of Methodist Districts, superseding the York and Whitby District. Its first Chairman was hymn-writer Reverend Fred Pratt Green.

At is creation the District comprised the following circuits: York, Clifton & Monkgate; York, Centenary; York, Wesley; Hull, Trinity; Hull, East; Hull, Mission; Hull, West; Hull, North; Snaith; Goole; Beverley; Driffield; Bridlington, Quay; Bridlington, St John's; Withernsea; Hornsea, Trinity; Hornsea, Market Place; Howden Caves; Filey, Trinity; Filey, Ebenezer; Market Weighton; Whitby; Tadcaster; Pocklington; Malton; Easingwold; Helmsley; Scarborough, Queen Street; Scarborough, St Sepulchre; Sherburn; Pickering; Kirkby Moorside; Thirsk; Ripon; Masham; Boroughbridge; Selby and Northallerton.

As of 2016 the District is divided into thirteen circuits. These are York; Beverley; Bridlington; Pockington & Market Weighton; Tadcaster; Thirsk & Northallerton; Ripon & Lower Dales; North Yorkshire Coast; South Holderness; Ryedale; Driffield-Hornsea; Goole & Selby; and Hull Centre & West.

The York and Whitby District was formed in 1932 following the unification of the Primitive, Wesleyan and United Methodist churches into a single Methodist Connexion. As it result it initially included ex-circuits of all three churches. Its first Chairman was Reverend David Bradbury.

In 1932 it comprised the following former Wesleyan circuits: York, Clifton; York, Centenary; York, Wesley; Whitby; Tadcaster, Pocklington; Market Weighton; Malton; Easingwold; Thirsk; Masham; Selby; Helmsley; Scarborough; Sherburn; Pickering; Kirbymoorside; Northallerton; Ripon and Boroughbridge. It also comprised the former Primitive Methodist circuits of York, Monkgate; York, Victoria Bar; Whitby; Tadcaster; Pocklington; Malton; Easingwold; Helmsley, two circuits at Scarborough; Pickering; Thirsky; Ripon; Selby and Brompton, as well as the former United Methodist circuits at York, Scarborough and Ripon.

In 1934 York, Monkgate Circuit was added and by the 1940s the multiple Primitive, Wesleyan and United Methodist circuits had been consolidated into single circuits for everywhere except York, Scarborough, Pickering and Selby, which had two circuits each, and York four.

In 1957 the District was superseded by the new York and Hull District.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 1999. Later material has not yet been listed, please contact the Institute for more information.

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 09.12.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Related Material

The circuit records for York, Clifton & Monkgate; York, Centenary; York, Wesley; York, South; and York, North Circuits of the Methodist Connexion are also deposited at the Borthwick Institute. The records of York, Clifton & Monkgate and York, North Circuits form a single archive: Circuit Records of the Methodist Church, York (New Street) Circuit (MRC/1).

Additional Information

Published

GB193