Agreement documents, a public notice, a published monograph and related documents.
Materials related to the Royal English Opera House and beyond, 1891-1983
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 71 THM/73/3
- Dates of Creation1891-1983
- Physical Description9 folders and 1 volume
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
D'Oyly Carte commissioned the building of the Royal English Opera House as a venue for Sullivan's grand opera. It opened with Sullivan and Julian Sturgis's Ivanhoe in January 1891. This was followed by André Messager and Albert Carré's La Basoche which closed in 1892, after which D'Oyly Carte leased the theatre to Henry Abbey and Maurice Grau for a Sarah Bernhardt season. D'Oyly Carte sold the theatre to Augustus Harris in 1892 and it reopened as the Palace Theatre of Varieties.