Palace Theatre materials, ca.1955-1983

Scope and Content

Cuttings and correspondence between Emile Littler and Bridget D'Oyly Carte.

Administrative / Biographical History

D'Oyly Carte sold the Royal English Opera House in 1892. The building was converted by Augustus Harris and renamed the Palace Theatre of Varieties. The building still stands and since 1911 has been known as the Palace Theatre. Emile Littler was controller of the Palace Theatre from 1946 to 1982, when it was acquired by Andrew Lloyd Webber's Really Useful Company.