Aberavon Petty Sessions

Scope and Content

Court registers, licensing records, minute books and other records, 1894-1974

Administrative / Biographical History

Aberavon Petty Sessions Division was created in 1894 out of parts of Neath Hundred and the Newcastle and Ogmore Division. Its area of jurisdiction included the parishes of Margam, Michaelston-super-Avon (Michaelston Higher and Lower hamlets), Baglan (Higher and Lower hamlets), and Glyncorrwg. Aberavon Borough had its own petty sessions (records of which are listed as P/S PT). In 1921 the Borough of Aberavon was enlarged to take in Baglan Lower, Michaelston Lower and Margam, and renamed Port Talbot. The Borough Petty Sessions Division was consequently enlarged, and the Aberavon Division reduced to Glyncorrwg, Michaelston Higher and Baglan Higher. In 1974 the Aberavon Division and Port Talbot Borough Division were merged to form Port Talbot Division, with the same boundaries as the new Borough of Afan (later Port Talbot).


Arranged into court registers, licensing records, minute books and other records.

Conditions Governing Access

Items within this collection which contain information on named individuals may be restricted in accordance with the Data Protection Act.


Compiled by Andrew Dulley, West Glamorgan Archive Service.

Other Finding Aids

A hard copy catalogue at item level is available at the West Glamorgan Archive Service, and an online version is on the West Glamorgan Archive Service website.

Conditions Governing Use

Normal copyright regulations apply

Usual copyright regulations apply.

Appraisal Information

All records have been retained


Accruals are not expected.

Related Material

See also the records of Aberavon (later Port Talbot) Borough Petty Sessions (to 1974), and of Port Talbot Petty Sessions (post 1974), reference P/S PT, at the West Glamorgan Archive Service.