West Glamorgan Divisional Executive

Scope and Content

E/W DEC 1/1-3 Unsigned Minutes: Includes some subcommittee minutes

E/W DEC 2/1-2 Signed Minutes

E/W DEC 3/1-5 Reports

E/W DEC 4/1-3 General Education Office Files

Administrative / Biographical History

The West Glamorgan Divisional Executive was established under the provisions of Butler's Education Act 1944. Education Authorities were abolished and replaced by divisional executives. The Tripartite system of grammar, secondary modern and technical schools was set up to give all pupils access to free secondary education. The West Glamorgan Divisional Executive Committee comprised of County Councillors and a chairman, the County Alderman. It was administered by a number of subcommittees and by appointed officers including the Director of Education, Medical Officer, Treasurer, Architect and Attendance Officers. The divisional executives were responsible for all of the schools in their area. The divisional executive system came to an end in 1974. The powers of the divisional executives were transferred to the local authorities.

Access Information

No restrictions

Other Finding Aids

A hard copy is available at the West Glamorgan Archive Service

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply.

Appraisal Information

All records received by the West Glamorgan Archive Service have been retained


Accruals are not expected.