Records of Newport Free Church, United Free Church, St Fillans
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The minister of Forgan came out of the Church of Scotland with many of his congregation at the time of the Disruption in 1843, and Newport Free Church was erected for them in 1844 in the small Fife village of Newport. The congregation joined the United Free Church in 1900 on the union of the Free Church of Scotland and the United Presbyterian Church. From 1902 to ca.1929 the charge, under the name Newport: St Fillan's, was in the United Free Church's Presbytery of St Andrews and Synod of Fife and Angus. After the union of the United Free Church and the Church of Scotland in 1929, the charge was in the Presbytery of Dundee and Synod of Angus and Mearns. In 1980 Newport: St Fillan's was united with Newport: St Thomas's and with Forgan under the designation Newport-on-Tay.
Sources: John Alexander Lamb, The Fasti of the United Free Church of Scotland 1900-1929, (Edinburgh, 1956); W. Ewing, Annals of the Free Church of Scotland, 1843-1900, (Edinburgh, 1914), Vol II; Hew Scott and others (ed.), Fasti Ecclesiae Scoticanae, vols. 9-11 (Edinburgh, 1961-2000).
Conditions Governing Access
By appointment with the Archivist. Access to unpublished records less than 30 years old and other records containing confidential information may be restricted. Special conditions apply to photographs.
Held under charge and superintendence of the Keeper of Records for Scotland.
Description compiled by Rachel Hart, Archives Hub Project, based on description created by Alan Borthwick, Scottish Archive Network project.
Other Finding Aids
Typescript catalogue available in St Andrews University Library Department of Special Collections and in National Archives of Scotland search rooms.
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the University Archivist. Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use and condition of documents.