Denbigh Dispensary was founded in 1807 and in 1810 plans were put forward by Mr Harrison, Architect, Chester. The building was completed in 1813.
The hospital was funded through subscriptions and wards for in-patients were added in 1826 with 16 beds in total. In 1834 and additional building was built for fever patients and those with infectious diseases.
Between 1917 and 1918 the hospital was used as a military hospital and scheduled under the Emergency Hospital Scheme during the Second World War.
On 5th July 1948 the hospital ceased to be voluntary hospital and became one of the nineteen hospitals and clinics under the control of the newly formed Clwyd and Deeside Hospital Management Committee.
In 1980 the hospital became a community hospital.
Also known as-
Denbigh General Dispensary and Asylum for the recovery of Health
This collection includes: administrative, financial, patient and staff records.
NTD/593- Copy ground plan and elevation of Denbigh Infirmary. 1800
DD/DM/1506/1- Denbigh Infirmary: 53rd Annual Report. 1860
DD/DM/755/1-19- Papers of A. Foulkes Roberts solicitor including papers concerning Denbigh Infirmary Lordship of Denbigh and Denbigh County School. 1889-1925
NCD/883- Photographs of Denbigh Infirmary. c.1900
DD/DM/755/11- Correspondence and papers concerning Denbigh Infirmary. 20th cent
DD/DM/770/4- Diaries of D.S. Foulkes-Roberts subjects include Denbigh Infirmary Howell's School Denbigh Field Club etc. 1907-11
BD/A/332- Plan of proposed alterations to Denbigh Royal Infirmary. 1927-1947
Commemorative pamphlet "Denbigh Infirmary 1807-1981" published by Clwyd Health Authority (1981)