Records relating to Angle Lifeboat Station and to Colonel Mirehouse, 1868-1992, including minutes and cash books of the Milford Branch of RNLI, 1868-1901; RNLI, Angle Branch cash book, 1902-1910; financial records, 1908-1913; correspondence, 1893-1914, 1940; returns of service, 1900, 1909; reports, 1897-1906; newspaper cuttings, 1896-1906; and videos, 1987, 1992.
Papers of Angle Lifeboat Station
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 213 DSO/22
- Dates of Creation1868-1992 (mainly 1868-1913)
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description(31 items)
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The National Institution for the Preservation of Life from Shipwreck was established in 1824 by Sir William Hillary, becoming the Royal National Lifeboat Institution (RNLI) in 1854. The village of Angle, Pembrokeshire, has had a lifeboat station and slipway since 1868 and is now one of 232 RNLI lifeboat stations in the British Isles. Colonel R. W. Bird Mirehouse was Honorary Secretary of the Angle Lifeboat in the early 20th century.
Arranged into the following: papers; videos.
Deposited by Colonel G. A. Jackson, c/o Esso Petroleum Club, Milford Haven, 1972; donated, 1988, 1994.
Compiled by Rhys Jones for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Pembrokeshire Record Office, Papers of Angle Lifeboat Station, catalogue; Cambria Archaeology website (www.acadat.com), viewed 24 June 2005.
Other Finding Aids
Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Pembrokeshire Record Office.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply
All records have been retained
Accruals are not expected