Caernarfonshire shipping registers, 1786-1918, relating to Port of Beaumaris, 1786-1901; Port of Caernarfon, 1840-1918; Port of Pwllheli, 1840-1851; and list of ship registers, 1960.
Caernarfonshire Shipping Registers
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 219 X/SR
- Dates of Creation1786-1918; 1960
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description(26 items)
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Beaumaris, Anglesey, was the principal port of North Wales until the Port of Caernarfon was established. Pwllheli was a sub-port of Beaumaris between 1840 and 1844 and a sub-port of Caernarfon after 1844. The ports were responsible to the Crown for the registration of shipping and the collection of duties on imports; their shipping registers record details of vessels including the owner, the master, changes of owner, and the eventual fate of the vessel.
Arranged into the following: Port of Beaumaris; Port of Caernarfon; Port of Pwllheli; and miscellaneous.
Conditions Governing Access
Source not recorded
Compiled by Richard Burman for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Caernarfon Record Office, Shipping Registers, catalogue; Archifdy Ynys Môn/Anglesey County Record Office, Records of the Registrar General of Shipping and Seamen (Anglesey), catalogue; Gwynedd Maritime Database, (http://freespace.virgin.net/r.cadwalader/maritime/maritime.htm#top), viewed 28 September 2004.
Other Finding Aids
Hard copies of the catalogue are available in Caernarfon Record Office and the National Library of Wales.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records deposited at Caernarfon Record Office have been retained.
Accruals are not expected