Parish records of Hayton

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1610-1899 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1789-1802); register of marriages, 1610-1976; register of burials, 1610-1951 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1789-1810, ages only from 1802); register of banns, 1823-1895; register of services, 1917-1992; communicants' roll, 1931-1947; records concerning benefice income, including tithe account, 1747, correspondence and papers, 1906, 1920-1934, and glebe sale correspondence, 1917-1925; charity records, including description of poor's land, 1809; churchwardens’ records, including briefs, 1684-c.1690, 1712-1739, and fabric papers, 1763, 1792, 1904, 1930-1959, 1968, 1973-1974; records of incumbents, including parsonage house papers, 1927-1966; overseers’ accounts, 1778-1810; records concerning parish rooms and societies, including parish hall accounts, 1947-1951, and correspondence, 1974; school records, including correspondence, 1927; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes of meetings, 1910-1921, 1932-1953, and accounts, 1909-1939, 1947-1948; records of Bielby Church of England School, including managers’ minute book, 1903-1950, conveyance, 1914, and correspondence, papers and reports, 1903-1950; report on the church by architect Temple Moore, c.1878.

Records of parish of Hayton-cum-Bielby, including terriers, 1809-1849, Bielby charity statements of accounts, 1923-1965, and map of the civil parish of Bielby, 1959.

Administrative / Biographical History

Hayton was a chapelry of Pocklington until 1252 when a vicarage was ordained in the chapels of Hayton and Bielby and the living was appropriated to the Deanery of York. Hayton thereafter became the parish church and Bielby a chapel of ease, both subject to the peculiar jurisdiction of the Dean of York until the nineteenth century. The living was augmented in 1737.

The parish church, which is dedicated to St Martin, dates to the twelfth century. It was restored in 1860. The rectory dates to the late eighteenth century and was rebuilt in 1858 by Thomas Grant of Pocklington.

In 1959 Bielby chapelry separated from Hayton to become part of the benefice of Seaton Ross with Everingham and Harswell. Today Hayton parish is part of the benefice of Londesborough Wold, which also includes Burnby, Londesborough and Shiptonthorpe.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1976 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1981, 1993, 1999, 2000 and 2009.

Note

Hayton was a chapelry of Pocklington until 1252 when a vicarage was ordained in the chapels of Hayton and Bielby and the living was appropriated to the Deanery of York. Hayton thereafter became the parish church and Bielby a chapel of ease, both subject to the peculiar jurisdiction of the Dean of York until the nineteenth century. The living was augmented in 1737.

The parish church, which is dedicated to St Martin, dates to the twelfth century. It was restored in 1860. The rectory dates to the late eighteenth century and was rebuilt in 1858 by Thomas Grant of Pocklington.

In 1959 Bielby chapelry separated from Hayton to become part of the benefice of Seaton Ross with Everingham and Harswell. Today Hayton parish is part of the benefice of Londesborough Wold, which also includes Burnby, Londesborough and Shiptonthorpe.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 2009.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, marriages, and burials, 1610-1885, and banns, 1823-1895, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 696, 1761).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 18.02.16

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193