The first part of the collection consists of contemporary records of the progress of sinking shafts at both collieries:
Bound volume (330 x 210mm) of data for the Wollaton shafts, with printed title page reading 'Section of Strata passed through in sinking the Wollaton Collieries on the estate of the Right Honourable Lord Middleton at Wollaton, in the County of Nottingham'. The volume contains handwritten pages recording daily progress of sinking three shafts between 1873 and 1877: No. 1 Shaft (originally entered, towards the back of the volume, as 'No. 3' and subsequently altered), with notes in red biro [20th century] highlighting the seams of coal; No. 2 Shaft; and No. 3 Shaft (originally entered as 'No. 1' and subsequently altered). The volume also includes records of strata in bore holes sunk in 1877. In each case, the details are entered under columns for the date of the work, the running number of each stratum, a description of the rock, the thickness of the stratum, the total depth of the shaft, and other remarks. (MS 822/1);
Loose sheets (6 ff) of data for the Radford shaft, formerly loose inside volume MS 822/1, entitled 'Section of Sinking Shaft situated at Radford, Nottingham, for the Wollaton Colliery Co. Ltd. 1898'. The sheets are handwritten and record daily progress between 1898 and 1900. The details are entered under columns for a description of the stratum, its thickness, and the total depth of the shaft; strata of coal deposits were highlighted in red at the time of the making of the record. (MS 822/2).
The second part of the collection consists of two handwritten, coloured and illustrated charts by E.O. Burrows, scale 20 feet to 1 inch, showing the different rock types in each stratum (with the coal seams shown in solid black), their thickness, and depth:
Chart by E.O. Burrows, entitled 'Section of Strata sunk through at Radford Colliery, 1898-1900, measuring 1320 x 340mm, and dated 26 Jun. 1905. (MS 822/3);
Chart by E.O. Burrows, entitled 'Section of Strata sunk through at the No. 1 Pit, Wollaton Colliery', measuring 1100 x 320mm, and dated 28 Sep. 1905. (MS 822/4).