The collection comprises 49 title deeds and associated documents for lands extending on both sides of the river Wear at Windyside in Westgate-in-Weardale, St John's Chapel (Weardale), formerly in Stanhope parish (until 1867) and latterly in theparish of Westgate St Andrew. The deeds evidence conveyances through the hands of a number of local families or their representatives from 1666 to 1904, including Emerson, Stobs, Allon, Coulthird, Fareless, Bainbridge, Robinson, Porter and Hodgson.At different times over this period this estate comprises: lands incrementally acquired and then grouped into the Easter and the Wester House parts; an additional house with two folds; part of a close called Middlehopeside Prye; part of four fieldsadjoining to the East the three Easter House fields lying North of the river Wear and a small area south of Windyside
Additional Manuscripts 1719: Windyside Deeds
Scope and Content
Conditions Governing Access
Open for consultation.
Presented by Mr Clifford and Mrs Ann Peart on 5 November 2009 (Misc.2009/10:74)
Part of : Additional MSS
Other Finding Aids
Available online at online catalogue.
Conditions Governing Use
Permission to make any published use of material from the collection must be sought in advance from the Sub-Librarian, Special Collections (e-mail PG.Library@durham.ac.uk) and, where appropriate, from the copyright owner. The Library will assistwhere possible with identifying copyright owners, but responsibility for ensuring copyright clearance rests with the user of the material.