In 1870 part of the church of new Hinksey was being used as a schoolroom but a couple of years later classrooms were built nearby and the school moved out. An infant school was built in 1887 in School Place and in 1891 the boys were moved to a new building. In 1926 the school was divided into a junior mixed and infant department and a senior mixed department but in 1952 the departments were merged again. In 1962 the school was re-organised as a junior mixed and infant school. It was later known as New Hinksey First School but at the time of cataloguing was called New Hinksey Church of England Primary School.
These records were deposited as part of Acc 3771 in February 1994 and also transferred from the Oxfordshire Education Department to the Oxfordshire History Centre.
Catalogued by Madeleine Simms, August.1995 with additions by Alison Smith in January 2016.