Parish records of Aughton with East Cottingwith

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1610-1988 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1778-1785) register of marriages, 1610-1974; register of burials, 1610-1883 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1778-1787, ages only 1786-1787); register of banns, 1823-1993; register of services, 1930-1964; records concerning benefice income, including list of lands, 1939, and correspondence and papers, 1914-1944; charity records, including deeds, 1667-1776, 1791, 1865, papers in Chancery case regarding lands, 1763-1765, and insurance policies, 1890; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1776-1850, 1858, 1861-1867, 1911-1915, fabric papers, 1940-1946, 1975-1981, and churchyard deed, 1875, East Cottingwith fabric, 1913, 1919; St. Mary, East Cottingwith, financial papers, 1970, and churchyard papers, 1966; records of incumbents, including portrait of vicar, 1633-1634, letters, 1913, correspondence, c.1960s, church membership returns, 1977, 1980, and St Mary, East Cottingwith, church membership returns, 1968; records concerning parish rooms and societies, including minutes of meetings of Entertainments Committee, 1929-1931; school records, including school managers' bank book, 1896-1913, correspondence and papers, 1882-1898, 1912-1914, rate assessments, 1876, 1880, 1884, 1889, 1893 and n.d.; surveyors’ records, including accounts, 1890-1895; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes of meetings, 1827-1850, magazines, 1901, 1909, 1914-1916, 1945, East Cottingwith minutes of meetings, 1929-1966, accounts 1973-1981, correspondence and papers, 1968-1978; St. Mary's, East Cottingwith, correspondence, insurance papers and accounts, 1967-1973; parish newsletter 1978-1980; papers concerning quinquenniel inspections, 1976, 1995-2001.

Administrative / Biographical History

The church of All Saints, Aughton, dates to the twelfth century and was granted to the Priory of Ellerton by the del Hays family. In 1231 a vicarage was ordained there for the life of the then vicar and in 1402 the churches of Ellerton and Aughton, with Aughton’s chapelry of Thorganby, were confirmed to the Priory.

The benefice was augmented in 1722 through Queen Anne’s Bounty and the chancel of the church, together with the vicarage house, was rebuilt in the nineteenth century.

The parish historically included the townships of Laytham and East Cottingwith. A chapel of ease existed at Laytham from at least the thirteenth century and was still standing in 1611, although it appears to have fallen into disuse, or been demolished, by the 1650s.

Another chapelry, dedicated to St Mary, existed at East Cottingwith from at least the fourteenth century, although evidence suggests that this was administered by Ellerton Priory as part of the rectory of Ellerton. The 1651 Parliamentary Survey recommends that the chapelry be united to Aughton, indicating that it was then considered to be separate. However the surviving parish registers show that residents of East Cottingwith used Aughton, and not Ellerton, as their parish church. The chapel was rebuilt in the 1780s.

Today East Cottingwith is part of the parish of Sutton on Derwent with East Cottingwith. Aughton, now comprising Aughton, Laytham and nearby Ellerton, is part of the parish of Bubwith with Ellerton and Aughton. The parish is notable as the birthplace of Robert Aske, leader of the 1536 Pilgrimage of Grace.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1967 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1968, 1970, 1983, 1984, 1986, 1988, 1992, 1993 and c.2001.

Note

The church of All Saints, Aughton, dates to the twelfth century and was granted to the Priory of Ellerton by the del Hays family. In 1231 a vicarage was ordained there for the life of the then vicar and in 1402 the churches of Ellerton and Aughton, with Aughton’s chapelry of Thorganby, were confirmed to the Priory.

The benefice was augmented in 1722 through Queen Anne’s Bounty and the chancel of the church, together with the vicarage house, was rebuilt in the nineteenth century.

The parish historically included the townships of Laytham and East Cottingwith. A chapel of ease existed at Laytham from at least the thirteenth century and was still standing in 1611, although it appears to have fallen into disuse, or been demolished, by the 1650s.

Another chapelry, dedicated to St Mary, existed at East Cottingwith from at least the fourteenth century, although evidence suggests that this was administered by Ellerton Priory as part of the rectory of Ellerton. The 1651 Parliamentary Survey recommends that the chapelry be united to Aughton, indicating that it was then considered to be separate. However the surviving parish registers show that residents of East Cottingwith used Aughton, and not Ellerton, as their parish church. The chapel was rebuilt in the 1780s.

Today East Cottingwith is part of the parish of Sutton on Derwent with East Cottingwith. Aughton, now comprising Aughton, Laytham and nearby Ellerton, is part of the parish of Bubwith with Ellerton and Aughton. The parish is notable as the birthplace of Robert Aske, leader of the 1536 Pilgrimage of Grace.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute.

Alternative Form Available

Selected records, including registers of christenings, 1610-1988, marriages, 1610-1974, burials, 1610-1883, 1886-1919, and banns, 1823-1900, churchwardens' accounts, 1776-1850, and terriers, 1764-1849, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 633, 1591, 1751, 1765).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 09.12.15

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Bibliography

Yorkshire Parish Register Society, 'The Parish Register of Aughton in the County of York, 1610-1812.' Transcribed and edited by John Charlesworth (1929).

Additional Information

Published

GB 193