Morgan, Professor Augustus De: Chair of Mathematics

Scope and Content

Correspondence and papers, principally relating to De Morgan’s appointment to the Chair of Mathematics at London University (University College London) in 1828 and to his resignation therefrom in 1831. Includes letters to De Morgan from Edward Turner, Leonard Horner, Warden of the College, and Dionysus Lardner, and drafts of De Morgan’s memoranda to the authorities of the University during his dispute with them.

Administrative / Biographical History

Augustus de Morgan was born at Madura, India in 1806. On returning to England, de Morgan was educated at various schools. In February 1823 he entered Trinity College, Cambridge, where he graduated in 1827. In 1828 he was appointed Professor of Mathematics at University College London. De Morgan resigned his post in 1831, on account of a disagreement with the University Council who claimed the right of dismissing a professor without assigning reasons. He resumed his chair in 1836 on assurance that the regulations had been altered so as to preserve the independence of professors, remaining Professor of Mathematics at UCL until he resigned in November 1866.

Access Information

Open for research. 24 hours notice is required for research visits.

Other Finding Aids

There is an interim handlist to the papers included in MS 238, MS 239, MS 240, MS 241, MS 775 and MS 776, prepared by T D Rogers in 1971. Also see A list of certain letters inserted in books from the Library of Augustus De Morgan (University of London Library, 1990).

Archivist's Note

1999-09-02 Simon McKeon, 2000-06-07 Sarah Smith.

Conditions Governing Use

Copies may be made, subject to the condition of the original. Copying must be undertaken by the Palaeography Room staff, who will need a minimum of 24 hours to process requests.

Custodial History

After his death in March 1871, de Morgan's library, which consisted of about three thousand volumes, was bought by Lord Overstone and presented to the University of London. MS 239 was the gift of William Frederick de Morgan in 1908.