Records of the Leicestershire and Warwickshire Electric Power Company,1904-1948

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

The minute books are all signed. There are five directors' minute books covering 1911-1948 (BEL1). They record the proceedings of the meetings of the company's board of directors. The early booksconcentrate on the financial and share aspects of the company while the later volumes offer moredetail on the company's power generation and supply activities.

There is also a signed shareholders' minute book covering 1904-1948 (BEL 2). They contain minutesof meetings to which shareholders were invited along with accompanying copies of accounts andnotices of meetings.

Administrative / Biographical History

The Leicestershire and Warwickshire Electric Power Company was incorporated in 1902 under theLeicestershire and Warwickshire Electric Power Act (1902). The company's customer base lay inLeicestershire and Warwickshire. The Corporations of Leicester and Hinckley were among its largercustomers. The firms of Balfour Beatty and Tramways Light and Power Company Ltd were early suppliersof power and infrastructure. The company supplied power generated by power stations in 'Avon'(presumably Newbold-on-Avon, Warwickshire), Hinckley (Leicestershire) and Warwick. The company wasnationalised with the rest of the electric power industry in 1948 and its activities were taken overby the East Midlands Electricity Board.

Arrangement

The volumes have been sorted chronologically.

Conditions Governing Access

ACCESS: Accessible to all registered readers subject torestrictions concerning personal information.

REPROGRAPHIC: Reprographic copies can be supplied for educational use and private study purposesonly, depending on access status and the condition of the documents.

Other Finding Aids

This description is the only finding aid available for the collection. Copyright in the description belongs to The University of Nottingham.

Conditions Governing Use

COPYRIGHT: Permission to make published use of the collection must be sought in advance inwriting from the Keeper of the Department of Manuscripts and Special Collections (email mss-library@nottingham.ac.uk). The Department willtry to assist in identifying copyright owners but this is often difficult and the responsibility forcopyright clearance before publication ultimately rests with the person wishing to publish.

LANGUAGE: English

Custodial History

The fate of the bulk of the company's archive is not known. The present collection, apparentlyretained by the East Midland Electricity Board, was given to The University of Nottingham'sDepartment of Manuscripts and Special Collections in April 2000 by PowerGen.