Volumes of signed minutes of Board and general meetings, 1912-1960; minutes of of the Board and Committee of Associated Commercial Vehicles Ltd; 1948-1970; minutes of managers' meetings, 1948-1968; minutes of the 22nd and 23rd General Meetings; shareholders' papers, 1928-1958; comptroller's Reports, 1962-1964; property files relating to ACV Sales Ltd. planning applications, 1948-1951; AEC Gazette, 1945-1950; standard orders, 1912-1950.
Papers of the Associated Equipment Company Ltd.
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 152 MSS.226/AE
- Dates of Creation1912-1970
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description0.169 cubic metres
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The origins of the Associated Equipment Company Ltd. (AEC) lie in the manufacture by the London General Omnibus Company (LGOC) at Walthamstow of buses to its own design, including the famous B type introduced in 1910.
When the Underground Electric Railways Company of London Ltd (UERC). bought the majority shareholding in the LGOC in 1912, vehicle manufacture was separated, and the Associated Equipment Company was created as a wholly owned subsidiary. It was intended that AEC should be a stand-alone company, freely trading on the open market. However, a five-year agreement with Daimler, who became sole agents for AEC chassis sold to companies outside the UERC, somewhat restricted these ambitions. The agreement came to a premature end in 1916 when AEC came under direct Government control for the duration of the war. By the end of the war the agreement had expired and AEC was able to trade freely once again.
With the formation of the London Passenger Transport Board in 1933, the AEC's parent company the Underground Electric Railway Company was taken over as part of the unified London Transport system. As a result the Associated Equipment Company was floated as a separate business. In 1948 AEC acquired Crossley Motors Ltd. and the Maudslay Motor Company Ltd. and a new holding company, Associated Commercial Vehicles Ltd. (ACV), was set up. This joined Leyland Motors in 1962 and became part of what was later know as the Leyland Motor Corporation. This effectively put AEC under the control of Leyland Motors. The company ceased trading with the collapse of the Leyland Group in 1979.
Reference: British Bus Archives The Associated Equipment Company Ltd. 1912 - 1979 (http://www.britishbus.co.uk/aec.htm). Accessed August 2002
This collection forms part of the British Motor Industry Heritage Trust Archive (MSS.226).
The Modern Records Centre uses a classification scheme. For further details of the scheme, see http://www.warwick.ac.uk/services/library/mrc/mrcclass.shtml. It is compatible with ISAD(G): General International Standard Archival Description (2000).
Conditions Governing Access
There are no restrictions on access to these papers.
This collection was deposited in the Centre by the British Motor Industry Heritage Trust in 1984.
Other Finding Aids
A paper catalogue to file level is available in the Centre's searchroom, at the National Register of Archives in London and in Chadwyck-Healey's National Inventory of Documentary Sources. A catalogue to file level is available in electronic format on the Access to Archives (A2A) website at: http://www.a2a.pro.gov.uk/
An authority record exists for the Associated Equipment Company Ltd. (GB 152 AAR2290).
Conditions Governing Use
All requests for publication of deposited material or the result of research based on it should be made to the Trust. The Trust reserves all rights to commercial exploitation and commercial publication. Please contact the Centre's staff for further details.
This collection has been weeded for duplicates.
Further deposits are not expected.