The collection includes volumes relating to accounts of goods and passenger traffic at stations, numbers of passengers, records of water supplied from a hydrant on the York platform and a coal delivery account book.
Records of the Derwent Valley Light Railway
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Derwent Valley railway line opened on 21 July 1913. It had strong connections with the North Eastern Railway (NER/LNER) and often used NER/LNER motive power. There were 11 stations which started at Layerthorpe and ended at Cliff Common.
The line from Wheldrake to Cliffe Common was opened on 29 October 1912, with the remainder of the line opening on 21 July 1913. It was constructed primarily as a freight line but passenger trains were introduced later in 1913.
During the First World War the line was used as a diversionary route by the North Eastern Railway between York and Selby. Passenger services ended in 1926, though freight traffic continued throughout the Second World War.
Over the years much of the line has been closed. Today the line runs between Murton Lane and Murton Way, the last half mile of its former route. It is run by the Derwent Valley Light Railway Society who operate it on behalf of the Yorkshire Museum of Farming.
Conditions Governing Access
Material is available subject to the usual terms and conditions of access to Archives and Local History collections.
Other Finding Aids
More detailed finding aids for this collection can be found online by searching the Explore website ( www.exploreyork.org.uk)
Compiled by Sarah Tester, Community Collections and Outreach Archivist, December 2014.
Conditions Governing Use
Images are supplied for private research only at the Archivist's discretion. Please note that material may be unsuitable for copying on conservation grounds. Researchers who wish to publish material must seek copyright permission from the copyright owner.