Fellowship meetings had been taking place for some time at various locations around the neighbourhood of Stoke Newington in London and also in the home of Mr and Mrs John Morley among others. As numbers increased, it was decided that there was a need for a building in which the growing Assembly could meet. On Friday 1 November 1867, the building known as the Iron Room opened in Hill Street and the first fellowship meeting took place there on Sunday 3 November 1867. Within twelve years, the number of people attending for fellowship had risen to 411 which led to the need for a larger meeting space.
Clapton Hall in Stoke Newington held its first meeting on Sunday 1 February 1880 and on 19 June 1880 Mr John Morley granted the tenancy of Clapton Hall for Brethren Fellowship. By 1888, the number of people attending the meetings at the Hall had increased to 728. The Assembly continued to meet regularly and celebrated 50 years of fellowship in 1917, but because of the First World War, the service to mark this event did not take place until 21 June 1919. During the Second World War, the Assembly had to relocate to The Ferry Mission when the Civil Defence commandeered Clapton Hall for a period of 18 months.
Clapton Hall continued to be used by the Brethren for fellowship and on Saturday 9 April 1960 a meeting was held to mark the 80th anniversary of its opening. Seven years later, the centenary of the Assembly which started at the Iron Room in 1867 was marked by a service on Saturday 15 April 1967.