Doctors' Commons, London: Trinity Hall Leases and Legal Papers

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Leases and legal papers:

DC 1. Case, Styward v. Bing, 1594-99.

DC 2. Case, Mason and others v. Trinity Hall, 1656-65.

DC 2A. Leases, 1555-93.

DC 3. Papers on rebuilding after the Great Fire of London, 1668-70.

DC 4. Miscellaneous papers, 1735-1858 and 1968.

DC 5. Leases, 1650-1765.

DC 6. Register of leases, 1671-1755.

Administrative / Biographical History

In 1568 Trinity Hall, Cambridge, obtained from the Dean and Chapter of St. Paul's a lease of a London house for the College of Advocates (Doctors' Commons). The buildings and many records were destroyed in the Great Fire in 1666, but new buildings were used to house the Court of Arches, Archbishop of Canterbury's Prerogative Court, Bishop of London's Consistory Court, and the Court of Admiralty. The lease was renewed periodically, and in 1782 the College of Advocates obtained a freehold. The College was dissolved in 1861.

Conditions Governing Access

Open for consultation by holders of a Reader's Ticket valid for the Manuscripts Reading Room.

Acquisition Information

Deposited on permanent loan by Trinity Hall, 1994.

Note

Description compiled by Robert Steiner, Department of Manuscripts and University Archives.

Other Finding Aids

Additional Manuscripts Summary Catalogue. A detailed list is also available in the Manuscripts Reading Room.

Subjects