Ancient Order of Foresters, Court Juniper Bush

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Records of Governance 1907-1990, Financial records 1925-1990, Records of Membership 1918-1990, Photographs 1900-1973, Returns to District Secretary 1919-1992, Records of Administration 1933-1990, Publications 1930s-1992, Edinburgh District 1965-1994, Records of Property 1914-1967

Administrative / Biographical History

The Court "Juniper Bush" was founded in 1873. The Foresters are a friendly society and the roots go back to the Leeds based Royal Foresters Society which was founded in the 18th century and became the Ancient Order of Foresters in 1834. In 1850 they attained legal status under the Friendly Societies Act.

The role of friendly societies was to provide a benevolent fund which members could pay into to provide cover for unemployment and sickness. There had been many other friendly societies in the Currie and Juniper Green area dating back to the 19th century. These included Currie Friendly Society, founded in 1765 which built Society Hall in 1831. As other national societies such as Foresters and Shepherds grew larger the smaller local organisations disappeared.

Conditions Governing Access

Records with sensitive personal information are closed for 75 years.

Acquisition Information

East Lothian Council Museum Service

Other Finding Aids

Item level descriptions are available in a database in the search room and on-line through the service's website.

Alternative Form Available

Images of some items are also available on the SCRAN website, which are available by subscription only.

Archivist's Note

Description complied by Helen Taylor, Archivist.

Custodial History

The collection was originally taken in by researchers for the SCRAN project Self Help Lothian Borders and Fife (SHELF) based at East Lothian Council Museum Service.

Related Material

Other photographs are with the Currie and District Local History Society and Tweedie collections.

Location of Originals

The collection is original