Records relating to the setting up and running of several Church of England Sunday Schools in York. The collection includes meeting minutes, papers relating to finances and the management of school buildings, school registers, library materials and teaching materials. This collection also includes the records of the John Dodsworth Educational Trust, some schools of which the Committee managed.
Records of the Church of England York Incorporated Sunday School Committee
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The York Sunday School Committee was founded in 1786 largely by William Richardson who ministered at St Michael-le-Belfrey, and consisted of several members of the clergy and laymen. The committee opened 10 schools for boys and girls. By 1841 over 1000 pupils attended eight of the schools. By the 1950's they began to decline and became closer to that of the modern Sunday schools. The committee also managed three schools set up by the John Dodsworth Educational Trust.
Conditions Governing Access
Material is available subject to the usual terms and conditions of access to Archives and Local History collections.
Other Finding Aids
More detailed finding aids for this collection can be found online by searching the Explore website ( www.exploreyork.org.uk)
Compiled by Sarah Tester, Community Collections and Outreach Archivist, December 2014.
Conditions Governing Use
Images are supplied for private research only at the Archivist's discretion. Please note that material may be unsuitable for copying on conservation grounds. Researchers who wish to publish material must seek copyright permission from the copyright owner.