Order of service for the Memorial Plaque Dedication Service
Berwyn Centre, Nantymoel, Records
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Berwyn Centre in Nant-y-moel was located in the former miner's workman's hall and cinema, built in 1901/02. It served the community for over 100 years, housing at various times a disco, theatre, library, reading rooms, cafe and playgroups. By the early-21st century the building had fallen in disrepair and in 2012 the decision was taken to close the centre and demolish the building. Despite a local campaign of opposition, the building was demolished in June 2013.
Conditions Governing Access
Other Finding Aids
A detailed catalogue is available online.
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
Compiled by Rhian Diggins for Glamorgan Archives, with reference to http://nantymoel.com (viewed 19/02/2016)
Conditions Governing Use
Normal Glamorgan Archives conditions apply.
All records which meet the collection policy of Glamorgan Archives have been retained.
The records were amongst a collection acquired by Bridgend Libraries from various local sources, including Ogmore Vale Historical Society. They were transferred by Bridgend Libraries to Glamorgan Archives with consent of the original donor where known.
Accruals are not expected.