Radyr Cricket Club

Administrative / Biographical History

Radyr Cricket Club was founded by courtesy of the earl of Plymouth in 1890 but did not gain a permanent home until the opening of the Riverside Ground in 1919 and experienced waining membership down to 1928 when it merged with Garth Cricket Club which had lost its ground at Morganstown as Radyr and Garth CC. In 1945 it took the name of Radyr Cricket Club and experienced a perod of success but shrinking membership in the 1960s led to amalgamation with the nomadic Overseas League Cricket Club in 1970. Part of the ground and pavilion was destroyed by the river Taf in the 1960s and the new pavilion burnt down in 1973. Financial problems were eased when Radyr CC formed Radyr Athletic Club to share the recreation ground with Cardiff Corinthians Football Club. Radyr CC was a member of the South Wales Conference League in 1990.

Bibliography

Radyr Cricket Club 1890-1990. Centenary brochure (Radyr Cricket Club, 1990)