Departmental Publications- Textbooks

Scope and Content

This series comprises the textual records produced for, and associated with, the textbooks produced by the Department. The material relates primarily to the Textbook Medical Jurisprudence and Toxicology which ran to thirteen editions between 1902 and 1973. Numerous members of the department were involved in this text in addition to the two primary authors, John Glaister Senior. and John Glaister Junior., most significantly Edgar Rentoul and Hamilton Smith. In addition, there are materials relating to the book The Power of Poison written by John Glaister Junior and published in 1954, and Medico-Legal Aspects of the Ruxton Case written by John Glaister Junior and James Couper-Brash, Professor of Anatomy at the University of Edinburgh. The series consists of notes, drafts, photographs and diagrams for publication, correspondence between authors and publishers, newspaper clippings, and reviews.

Access Information