Parish records of Fangfoss

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1662-1712, 1715-1982 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1779-1812); register of marriages, 1655-1684, 1715-1947; register of burials, 1670-1712, 1715-1991 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1780-1812); register of banns, 1824-1895; register of services, 1933-1974; register of confirmations, 1863, 1869, 1872; communicants' roll, 1914; records concerning benefice income, including tithe compositions, 1720, 1844, tithe correspondence and appeal papers, 1842-1843, lists of glebe, 1720, 1844, glebe deeds 1854, 1944, 1955, correspondence and papers, 1853-1866, 1947, and glebe maps, 1883; charity records, including accounts, 1857-1959, deed, 1882, and correspondence, 1857-1959; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1817-1974, assessments, 1817-1885, papers concerning the building of the church, 1844-1850, fabric papers, 1920, 1934-1940, and churchyard papers, 1920; records of incumbents, including antiquarian notes, c.1910-1920, statistical returns, 1926-1928, 1937-1938; overseers’ records, including accounts, 1769-1837, poor rate mortgage and correspondence, 1848; school records, including accounts, 1934-1940, deeds, 1818-1880, correspondence and papers, 1866-1954, stock and stores book, 1905-1926, and Sunday School accounts, 1949-1957; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes of meetings, 1848-1850, accounts, 1850-1974, enclosure award, 1723, and wayleave agreements, 1938.

Administrative / Biographical History

The parish of Fangfoss shares much of its early history with that of Barmby Moor. In 1252 a vicarage was ordained jointly at Barmby and Fangfoss. The two still had separate ministers in the 1520s but from 1568 the vicarage of Barmby and the curacy of Fangfoss were always held by the same incumbent. Both were subject to the peculiar jurisdiction of the Dean of York until the nineteenth century. The curacy of Fangfoss was augmented in 1747, 1779, 1791, 1798 and 1819 through Queen Anne’s Bounty.

The parish church, which is dedicated to St Martin, dates to the twelfth century. It had fallen into disrepair by 1602 and underwent extensive repairs in the eighteenth century before being entirely rebuilt in 1848-1850 by architect R. Dennis Chantrell of Leeds. The new church was known as St Mary’s and later St John’s, before returning to its original dedication of St Martin. A vicarage house was also recorded at Fangfoss in the seventeenth century. The parish includes the hamlet of Spittle.

Today Fangfoss is part of the Barmby Moor group of benefices which also includes Barmby Moor, Thornton and Yapham cum Meltonby.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1981 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1982, 1983 and 1993.

Note

The parish of Fangfoss shares much of its early history with that of Barmby Moor. In 1252 a vicarage was ordained jointly at Barmby and Fangfoss. The two still had separate ministers in the 1520s but from 1568 the vicarage of Barmby and the curacy of Fangfoss were always held by the same incumbent. Both were subject to the peculiar jurisdiction of the Dean of York until the nineteenth century. The curacy of Fangfoss was augmented in 1747, 1779, 1791, 1798 and 1819 through Queen Anne’s Bounty.

The parish church, which is dedicated to St Martin, dates to the twelfth century. It had fallen into disrepair by 1602 and underwent extensive repairs in the eighteenth century before being entirely rebuilt in 1848-1850 by architect R. Dennis Chantrell of Leeds. The new church was known as St Mary’s and later St John’s, before returning to its original dedication of St Martin. A vicarage house was also recorded at Fangfoss in the seventeenth century. The parish includes the hamlet of Spittle.

Today Fangfoss is part of the Barmby Moor group of benefices which also includes Barmby Moor, Thornton and Yapham cum Meltonby.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 1993.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, 1662-1885, marriages, 1655-1885, burials, 1670-1991, and banns, 1824-1895, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 684, 882, 1761).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 10.02.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Bibliography

See, A. Gibbons, ed. 'The Northern Genealogist ,' Volume 3 (1900), for transcripts of Fangfoss parish register, 1701-1710.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193