Clydach Merthyr Colliery

Scope and Content

Minutes 1942-1947; wages books 1910-1913; Manager's carbon-copycorrespondence books 1937-1961; correspondence 1938-1945; Manager's report books1951-1952 and 1957; register of workmen 1939; circulars and memoranda 1947-1950;accident returns 1950-1952; accident notices 1934-1961; National Coal Board Group Safety Officer's reports 1950-1960.

Administrative / Biographical History

Clydach Merthyr Colliery was opened in 1863 by the Graigola Merthyr Company. The company was a member of the Monmouthshire and South Wales Coal Owners Association.

After Nationalisation in 1947 the colliery was worked in conjunction with Abergelli Slant and was part of the National Coal Board's South Western Divisions No. 1 (Swansea) Area.

The colliery was closed in 1961.

Access Information

Access unrestricted unless stated otherwise.

Conditions Governing Use

Reprographic: No publication without written permission from the Archivist.

Geographical Names