Bangor, Caernarfon and Tregarth Wesleyan Methodist Circuits Papers

Scope and Content

Records of Caernarfonshire Wesleyan Methodist Circuits, 1807-1992, consisting of Arfon Circuit records, 1973-1979; Caernarfon Circuit records, 1807-1991; including baptismal registers, 1840-1979; plans, 1893-1977; 'Y Trefnydd' magazine, 1900-1946; records relating to the Trust properly in the Circuit, 1900-1968; financial records, 1866-1972; correspondence, 1908-1915; minute books, 1875-1973; Circuit schedule books, Trust, Temperance, Sunday School schedules and other statistical returns, 1860-1978; miscellaneous correspondence, 1900-1911; miscellaneous, 1859-1982; Trustees records, 1893-1963; chapel records, 1807-1986, including Capel Ebeneser, Caernarfon, 1808-1978; Capel Elim, Y Felinheli, 1866-1971; Capel Bethel, Llanberis, 1893-1979; Capel Seion, Llanddeiniolen, 1910-1963; Capel Hermon, Llanrug, 1812-1974; Capel Y Waun, Penisarwyn, 1907-1974; Capel Horeb, Penygroes, 1877-1991; Capel Bethel, Rhostryfan, Capel Moriah, Talysarn, 1863-1968; Capel Salem, Ty'n Lôn, 1903-1986; Capel Tabernacl, Deiniolen, 1923-1980; Capel Ebenezer, Blaenau Ffestiniog, 1866-1971; miscellaneous chapel records, 1807-1974; Llanberis Circuit records, 1872-1882; Bangor Circuit records, 1839-1992, including baptism registers, 1839-1992; chapel records, including Capel Horeb, Bangor, 1878-1965; Moriah Church, Bangor, 1896-1978; St. Paul's Church, Bangor, 1859-1985; Bethel Church, Llanfairfechan, 1885-1993; Ebenezer Church, Penmaenmawr, 1913-1986; Seion Church, Hirael, 1878-1968; Glasinfryn Church, Bangor, 1892-1933; Tregarth Circuit records, 1857-1991, including baptism registers, 1857-1991; chapel records, including Siloh Church, Tregarth, 1905-1986; Gorffwysfa Church, Tregarth, 1902-1983; Peniel Church, Mynydd Llandegai, 1896-1976; Pisgah Church, Rhiwlas, 1976-1980; Gorffwysfa Church, Sling, 1964-1989; Tabernacl Church, Deiniolen, 1934; Salem Church, Llanllechid, 1976-1989; Siloam Church, Bethesda, 1871-1991; miscellaneous papers, 1894-1987; and records relating to Caernarfon, Bangor and Tregarth Circuits, 1895-1982.

Administrative / Biographical History

The Wesleyan Methodist Church in Wales served both English- and Welsh-speaking communities, with parallel organisations (individual chapels linked to form Circuits, part of Districts). The Caernarfon Wesleyan Circuit joined with the Bangor and Tregarth Circuits to form the Arfon Circuit in September 1974. The Llanberis Circuit had been separate from the Caernarfon Circuit in the period from c. 1872 to 1882. Wesleyan Methodists are known as Methodists in England; in Wales, the common use of 'Methodist' relates to Calvinistic Methodists, and hence the term Wesleyan Methodist is used. The Circuit generated administrative records of its own but sometimes also accumulated those of its consitituent chapels, including their registers.


Arranged into two groups: Group one consists of Caernarfon Circuit records; Group two consists of records of Bangor Circuit, Caernarfon Circuit, Tregarth Circuit and records relating to the three Circuits

Access Information

No restrictions


Compiled by Richard Burman for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Caernarfon Record Office, Cofnodion Cylchdeithiau Wesleaidd Bangor, Caernarfon a Tregarth/ Bangor, Caernarfon and Tregarth Wesleyan Methodist Circuits Papers, catalogue; Methodism in Wales website (, viewed 4 October 2004.

Other Finding Aids

Hard copies of the catalogue are available in Caernarfon Record Office, the National Library of Wales and the National Register of Archives. A catalogue of XD/34/1-788 is available online.

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply.

Appraisal Information

All records deposited at Caernarfon Record Office have been retained.


Accruals are possible

Related Material

Related material is Caernarfons Record Office, XM/3225/12; XM/2756; XM/345/47; XM/166/46

Geographical Names