Additional papers of the Leeds White Cloth Hall.
Additional papers of the Leeds White Cloth Hall
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The first hall for the sale of white cloth in Leeds was financed by merchants and tradesmen and erected in Kirkgate, Leeds, opening in April 1711. Business flourished, and in 1755 a new hall was built, financed by subscriptions from clothiers, and occupying a site on a strip of land between Hunslet Lane and Meadow Lane. By the mid-1770s this hall also had become too small. Merchants seeking to keep the cloth market centralised in Leeds initiated the building of a third White Cloth Hall which opened in October 1775. A fourth hall was established in the 1860s.
Conditions Governing Access
Access is unrestricted
The gift of Messrs Armstrong, Midgley & Co., solicitors, of Leeds, May 1976
Other Finding Aids
Contents listed in Handlist 43
These additional papers were received after the publication of Miss Patricia Hudson's catalogue, The West Riding wool textile industry: a catalogue of business records, 1975, having been discovered in a basement in the premises of Messrs Armstrong, Midgley & Co., solicitors.