Comprises three visitors/arrivals books, dated 1842-1857, 1868-1880 (with some entries for 1883, 1922, 1926 on pp 309-310), 1880-1931.
Oakeley Arms Hotel, Tan-y-bwlch, Visitors' Books
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 222 BMSS OAK
- Dates of Creation1842 August - 1931 September
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish.
- Physical Description3 items
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
We cannot give a precise date for the establishment of the The Oakeley Arms Hotel at Tan-y-bwlch, Maentwrog in Merionethshire, north Wales but it is known that it existed in 1763 when quarter sessions records note that William Rowland of Tan-y-bwlch lived there. The Oakeley Arms, originally known as the Oakeley Inn and associated with the Oakeley family, is also mentioned in the 18th century Publicans Recognisances. The hotel is still in business today and has become a local landmark at Tan-y-bwlch.
Material is arranged in chronological order and incorporated into the General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts .
Conditions Governing Access
Open to all users
Description compiled by Anne Lenaghan, July 2002.
Other Finding Aids
Item level word-processed list is available at the Archives Department, University of Wales, Bangor. Reference numbers: General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts: 1572-1574
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright conditions apply. Reprographics are made at the discretion of the Archivist.