This is a small archive for a company which has been active in Hull since the 1830s. Many early records were lost during the bombing of Hull during the Second World War and most of the collection dates from the period after 1908. Minutes of meetings of directors and shareholders, as well as private ledgers and journals, cover the period from incorporation up to 1958. There are detailed records of agency vessels covering 1942 to 1967 and registers of shipping maintained by the Finnish Consulate in Hull for the period 1919 to 1982. Samples of company advertising are available for 1920 to 1981. The most important single source is the diary of John Good, which he began in 1829 and continued until a few years before his death; he also recorded details of his early life. This is supplemented by some travel diaries for voyages to Scandinavia in 1858 and 1864. The main diary contains a wealth of information about John Good's business activities, travels in Scandinavia, his religious beliefs and his humanitarian work in Finland. His son Joseph also kept diaries and two of these have survived, but are not of such interest.
The second accession (U DGO/56-109) consists of a number of property records, mainly relating to the firm's property in High Street, Hull, and three folders containing historical notes about the firm and the Good family, newspaper cuttings, photographs, and miscellaneous documents.
The majority of the collection is in English, with some items in Finnish.