Scope and Content

Contains: Leases, fines, mortgages and other papers relating to land in Thornborough, Buckinghamshire 1762-1894

Administrative / Biographical History

A mill was built at Thornborough in the early 12th century. The main building now on the site however, probably dates from the 15th or 16th century. The mill has many original fixtures: it was worked until fairly recently and the water-wheel was not removed until 1940. The donor's family, which has been established in the milling business for many years, originally came from Wavendon, Buckingham. The grandfather of the present occupant moved to Thornborough in 1884. Other members of the family operate mills at Three Bridge Mill, Buckingham and Waddesdon Mill, near Aylesbury, Buckingham.

There are 18-20 acres of land attached to the mill

Conditions Governing Access

Open for consultation

Acquisition Information

Presented on permanent loan July 1966 by F H Taylor (Farm Records Accession Number 54)


Compiled by Caroline Gould, February 2003

Other Finding Aids

A detailed catalogue is available at the Museum of English Rural Life

Conditions Governing Use

Please contact the Archivist

Geographical Names