Miscellaneous papers re Holyhead Urban District Council.
Holyhead Urban District Council - Additional Deposit
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Holyhead Urban District Council was established in 1894 and took over responsibility from Holyhead Local Government Board, which was established in 1860 in response to problems caused by the rapid growth of the town. It was made up of elected officials including a chairman and councillors. U.D.C.s could be administered by a number of committees and by appointed officers including a clerk, treasurer, medical officer of health, surveyor and sanitary inspector. The UDC had responsibilities for sanitary services, sewerage, refuse collection, housing, streets, cemeteries, libraries, parks, war memorials, licensing of public entertainments, war damage and construction. The other U.D.C.s of Anglesey were Amlwch, Llangefni and Menai Bridge. The U.D.C.s were abolished under local government reorganization in 1974.
Conditions Governing Access
Dim cyfyngiadau/ No Restrictions
Transferred by Gwynedd County Council, 1974.
Os gwelwch yn dda archebwch y dogfenau gan ddefnyddio y rhif cyfeirnod amgen (lle ddarperidd) / Please order documents using the alternative reference number (where provided)
Other Finding Aids
Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Archifau Ynys Môn / Anglesey Archivesand the National Register of Archives. It is the policy of Gwasanaeth Archifau Ynys Môn / Anglesey Archives to catalogue in the language of the document.
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
Cyflwr da/Good condition
Compiled by Helen Lewis, Anglesey Archives / Archifau Ynys Môn
Mae'r holl gofnodiadau sy'n cydymffurfio â pholisi casglu Swyddfa Gofnodi Cyngor Sir Ynys Môn wedi eu cadw /All records which meet the collection policy of the Anglesey Archives have been retained.
Mae croniadau yn bosibl/Accruals are possible