Baptismal register, 1785-1812 and 1821-1849; Marriages, 1785, 1821-1848 and 1850-1864.
Records of Newburgh Associate Congregation, Fife
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Newburgh Associate (Burgher) congregation, which sat within the Presbytery of Cupar, commenced in 1785. There had been a secession congregation here from 1740. The congregation suffered from the commencement of a Relief Church congregation at Newburgh in 1841. The charge became one of the United Presbyterian Church congregations in 1847. Following the union of the United Presbyterian Church and the Free Church of Scotland in 1900, the charge became Newburgh West United Free Church, and was united with Newburgh East United Free Church in 1903.
Source: Robert Small, The History of the Congregations of the United Presbyterian Church 1733-1900 (Edinburgh, 1904).
Conditions Governing Access
By appointment with the Archivist. Access to unpublished records less than 30 years old and other records containing confidential information may be restricted. Special conditions apply to photographs.
Held under charge and superintendence of the Keeper of Records for Scotland.
Description compiled by Rachel Hart, Archives Hub Project, based on description created by Lesley Doig and modified by Alan Borthwick, Scottish Archive Network project.
Other Finding Aids
Typescript catalogue available in St Andrews University Library Department of Special Collections and in National Archives of Scotland search rooms.
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the University Archivist. Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use and condition of documents.