Minutes, 1843-1923; Deacon's court minutes, 1844-1923; Accounts, 1844-1859; Cash book, 1860-1904; Baptisms, 1843-1862 and 1867-1921; Marriages, 1843-1861, 1868 and 1918-1922; Communion roll, 1843-1922.
Records of Auchtermuchty Free Church, Martyrs United Free
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The congregation of Auchtermuchty Free Church was established at the time of the Disruption in 1843 and services began in a church erected for the congregation in that same year. Following the union of the United Presbyterian Church and the Free Church of Scotland in 1900, Auchtermuchty Free Church became Auchtermuchty Martyrs United Free Church and in 1923 a union was established with Auchtermuchty South. Following this local union the name of the congregation became simply Auchtermuchty United Free Church, and the former South church was used as the place of worship, with the former Martyrs church being converted for use as a church hall. In 1929, when the United Free Church joined with the Church of Scotland, the congregation was termed Auchtermuchty St Stephen's and in 1952 St Stephen's united with the parish church of Auchtermuchty Old. After the union the charge continued under the name of Auchtermuchty and the former St Stephen's church and manse were sold. The kirk session presently falls within the Presbytery of St Andrews.
Sources: John Alexander Lamb, The Fasti of the United Free Church of Scotland 1900-1929 (Edinburgh, 1956); W. Ewing, Annals of the Free Church of Scotland, 1843-1900 (Edinburgh, 1914), Vol II; Hew Scott and others (ed.), Fasti Ecclesiae Scoticanae, vols. 9-11 (Edinburgh, 1915-2000).
Conditions Governing Access
By appointment with the Archivist. Access to unpublished records less than 30 years old and other records containing confidential information may be restricted. Special conditions apply to photographs.
Held under charge and superintendence of the Keeper of Records for Scotland.
Description compiled by Rachel Hart, Archives Hub Project, based on description created by Lesley Doig and modified by Alan Borthwick, Scottish Archive Network project.
Other Finding Aids
Typescript catalogue available in St Andrews University Library Department of Special Collections and in National Archives of Scotland search rooms.
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the University Archivist. Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use and condition of documents.