Old Colwyn Board School opened on 29th October 1866.
The original school was opened in Greenhill and the first head teacher was Daniel Currie. By November 1866 there were 62 scholars on roll. Numbers on roll steadily increased and by 1886 there were 135 scholars. There were a number of head teachers over this period, some much criticised by HMI.
By 1886 the head teacher was Methias Evans who gave good marks for attendance and punctuality rather than physical punishment. However HMI reports criticised his lack of discipline of the children. The biggest problem for a long period was the lack of accommodation for this growing school despite an extension to the Infant classroom in 1902.
In July 1907 the head teacher severely criticised the LEA for allowing the situation to continue as there were now 280 scholars on roll (ED/LB/22/3 Pages 168, 188, 190). Overcrowding was so bad in the school that in April 1909 89 Infants and 30 Standard Is were taken to the Vestry room of the English Baptist Chapel for lessons – some distance from the main school (ED/LB/22/5). This situation was still the same by 1924.
Rowland Jones had been Head teacher since April 1910 but died in office in 1927 and was succeeded by J Hughes Charles.
In September 1929 there was a proposal for a new school to be built in Church Walks – builders were the Ashworth Bros. – Rhos on Sea. On 24th December 1931 the old school building closed and the new school was formally opened on 11th January 1932. The new school had 9 classrooms – 6 for the Juniors and 3 for the Infants plus an assembly hall.
In December 1930 the Central School at Colwyn Bay had opened which took many of the older pupils.
During the war evacuees were accommodated at the school as with many others in the area. They were taught along with the local children on a double shift system – locals in the morning and evacuees in the afternoon.
In 1971 a new school was built for the Infants – Ysgol T Gwynn Jones, leaving more space for the Junior school.
The school was remodelled in 1973/4 and 1983/4.
The old school building, which closed in December 1931 was used for a while, for the school meals service, concerts and jumble sales etc. but was demolished in 1984.
This collection includes log books and admission registers.
Ysgol Iau Hen Golwyn (the school’s later name)
Church Walks, Old Colwyn, Colwyn Bay, Conwy. LL29 9RU.
OS sheet - 111- 8 – 1875 Ed. (British School, Boys, Girls and Infants)
OS Sheet – 111 – 8 – 1913 Ed. (School)
CD/A/4/181- Plans, 1972